Inspired Stone


Star Walls
August 30, 2009, 11:54 pm
Filed under: Climbing | Tags:

grid_climbing

One of the things I like most about climbing is the exploration.  There is always a route I haven’t done or an area I haven’t seen.  The dirty and crinkled pages of maps and guidebooks are evidence of my dreaming.  To placate this urge, Nicole joined me for some climbing and scouting in a non-remote area near Donner Summit.  We climbed a few routes on North Star Wall, the neglected neighbor of South Star Wall.  Only ten minutes from the car and yet the lichen had avoided the cleaning power of climbing shoes and the base vegetation was still robust.  On the way out, I found some beautiful (and obviously popular) boulders overlooking Donner Lake.  Ah, another place to think about and plan to visit in the future.

donner_boulder

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

You are an explorer at heart! I’m glad I got to go out with you! I still have scratches on my legs to testify from that “robust vegetation!” Nice wordsmithing!

Comment by bluebicicletta




Leave a Reply

